Friday, June 15, 2007

The Fairy Chronicles by J.H. Sweet (Illustrated by Tara Larsen Chang)

The Fairy Chronicles is a set of books written by J.H. Sweet beautifully illustrated by Tara Larsen Chang. On the front of the first book, Marigold and the Feather of Hope, The Journey Begins, it says “…where some girls are also fairies.” The fairy teams consists of normal girls who find out that they are, in fact, not so normal. They can switch to being fairies, and do many good things, go on exciting adventures, and meet other fairies and magical characters in the fairy kingdom.

The fairies each have a different gift, and work as a team to help people and solve problems. Although I’m not fond of ‘magic,’ the underlying theme is one of good versus evil – an enduring and very real problem in all of our lives.

In addition to the adventure in each book, you’re treated to detailed descriptions of each fairy, with Fairy Fun and Facts with recipes and crafts.

I liked it that the author has a sense of humor. One of the older fairies in the second book, Dragonfly and the Web of Dreams, is addicted to caffeine – a trait with which I can identify! And children will identify with the characters in these books. Each one is very well-developed with unique traits, gifts, and mentors.

I believe that our creativity is a gift given by God, and this author and illustrator team is richly blessed. The Fairy Chronicles are imaginative and extremely creative. A fun read! Although recommended for ages 7 and up, I think children from 4 and up would enjoy having the books read to them. One piece of advice - buy a bag of lemon jellybeans, as all fairies like them, you know!

Product Details:
Reading level: Ages 9-12
Paperback: 120 pages
Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Language: English
Visit InfoServe for backgrounds.